Lebensborn Celebrities


Lebensborn Celebrities

Two Scandinavian celebrities are Lebensborn children. Abba star Anni-Lrid Lyngstad is the child of a Norwegian mother and German sergeant. She was shunned and persecuted during her childhood and found her father three decades later, saying, “I can’t really connect to him and love him the way I would have if he’d been around when I was growing up.” Her mother died before she was two and her grandmother immigrated to Sweden to raise her.
Marta Kristen was born to a Finnish mother and German soldier who was killed towards the end of WW II. A couple from the U.S. adopted her and changed her name from Bridget to Marta. She has a long list of movie appearances like Wagon Train and Lost in Space. Off screen, she tried to find her roots. In l969 she was found her real mother in Finland and has met her older sister. She continues to look for other family members, a brother in Austria and a sister in Finland.
While researching history in Germany for Lebensborn, I met a man in a suburb north of Frankfurt . He is the child of a Polish man brought like many others from Poland to work the agriculture fields in that area during WWII.
He said, “When the war was over and the German soldiers were coming home, the parish priest told mothers of the thousand babies born of the Poles to kill us. My mother put me in the kitchen stove but my grandmother pulled me out. There were only two of us children at school and we were shunned and bullied. It was a terrible childhood.”

Questions

Why did the black SS uniforms disappear?
What was the Lebensborn program? Why couldn’t an SS officer receive a promotion if they had no children?
WWII collectibles. Are they still popular?
Why was the Nazi public relations programs the most successful the world has ever witnessed?
Most Americans have little knowledge of the European geography and history of WWII. What limited history of WWII they do have comes from what source?

Following Leads

It was the first sunny day in a series of dreary weeks so I caught a ride with Bud to Chelan in his Comanche airplane to consult with a client. 

They dropped me off at the small, sunny Chelan library of many windows (this pristine lake city has 3,500 residents). I snatched up their current Writer’s Market and jotted down publications with interest in collectibles for possible article submissions.
 I put on my marketing hat to find a way to let people learn of the Lebensborn program and novel.

The second edition of my story cookbook is almost sold out. The sales ladies at Big R, a rural western ranch supply house, learned that I’m considering a third edition and are eager for the third to arrive.
The store manager asked me to show the cookbook to one of their store buyers who liked it enough to give me a vendor number. Jerrod, the store manager, told him, “People come in asking for it.” Of course, it has a spotlighted position near the checkout counters. The books are on display in a rustic wooden holder Bud crafted in his cluttered barn.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

