Article for German Publication


Article for German Publication

German Life is a bi-monthly magazine dedicated to solid reporting on cultural and historical events as well as the publishing of travel information. Accepted manuscripts are printed nine months to two years after acceptance.

In my letter to the publisher today, I said, the enclosed article was nucleus of information I’d use when I talk about Germany and the novel during book presentations.

“Lebesnborn is my WWII historical novel about the secret Nazi Lebensborn program (unknown to the German public but not to their military). The novel is scheduled to be published by Eloquent books early this summer of 2010.

“My professional background includes a decade of public relations with the American Red Cross in Iowa and Montana so my background is acknowledged in several references to the superior expertise the Germans had in public relations. I have also worked for newspapers as reporter and editor and my freelance articles have appeared in many major magazines such as the Des Moines Register and Cedar Rapids Gazette/”

New Blogger Begins

My publisher has sent instructions for how-to-blog. So, I’m going to blog and have the help of Sherry Bloxam, a gal. She lives in nearby Northport and once was a hippy living in the Seattle Love Family Israel commune and while there learned her computer skills at Microsoft.

The site to blog recommended by the publisher cost $24.95 per month, so she used blogger.com at no charge. These blogs will be linked through my Facebook page.

Through the Costco Magazine, I discovered fabulously40.com. It’s a fun and more personnel way to blog.

The final edit is over. It was exhausting and tedious. No matter how well anything is written, there always is a bit here and there to be improved. In the last edit, “eve” was pointed out to be missed spelled and should have been eave. Who would have known that the word “gray” is preferred over grey?

I’ve e-mailed manuscripts to several persons who may provide a review of the novel. My son, Tony, who lives on the East Coast, wanted to read the novel. He opened the first book and tried yesterday to phone to say how much he likes the novel. “It reminds me of reading Grisham. When I pick up a book and it doesn’t hold my interest in the first page or two, I don’t continue reading.”
“How far did you read?”
“Just the first chapter,” he said.
“You’re just arriving at the good stuff.”
He said, “Don’t tell me. I don’t want to spoil the surprise.”

Heaven Help the World

Blogging is as much fun for me as investing, hosting a dinner party, writing a love scene, sitting beside a campfire watching the clouds roll by, concocting a new recipe or kayaking with the girls.

The outpouring of thoughts flows naturally. I feel sad for those who find writing to be a chore or difficult. Some have told me that it’s inconceivable for them to find it easy. An AAUW friend who asked for help to write press releases says, “You don’t know, how I agonize over every word.”

Will the world be filled with an overload of information and topple over? I’ve watched my husband’s writing bloom doing it every day. He was an expert at engineering reports, but when he saw me having so much fun writing fiction he thought he’d give it try and write a few pages about the last Indian Wars in the Pacific Northwest.
Ten years later, he has more than six-hundred pages. He spends mornings writing and in the afternoon, he’s off to work in the woods.

Another Direction
 

Every day brings new insights for how-to showcase the book. During a chat with a man at the Chicago Visitors Bureau, I asked if there were a military museum in Chicago. He gave me the phone number for the Midwest Military Museum. During our conversation, I told him about Lebensborn. “I’m writing the title down now. It sounds interesting,” he said. 

The synopsis of Lebensborn: A French girl is caught in the web of the SS plan to create a Master Race. Intrigue in the heart of Germany is WWII. (Or, should I have said, Intrigue at an SS party house next to a Lebensborn home in the heart of Germany in WWII?)

R. James Bender, in San Jose, who sells military collectibles, says he is too swamped by work to answer questions for an article about military collectibles. “I work sixteen hours a day and seven days a week.” Later, I am to discover than anyone like Mr. Bender in this profession must have the same passion, dedication and ability to work on their collections.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

