Exciting Adventure Ahead

The adventure begins . . . soon, so soon.


New York City offers the best the U.S. has to offer in every venue: especially food, entertainment and business deals.

For the book industry, it means that over three million people will be passing through the huge Javits Center May 23-26, 2011.

I register as author-in-booth on Monday and take my official registration confirmation form to the lobby and exchange it for an official badge. The main pavilions open Tuesday morning so I’ll won’t be walking around too much that day, but will have a chance to hear what leaders of the book industry say about what and how people will be reading in the next five years.

On Wednesday afternoon, I’m author-in-booth at Number 4938. When I’m roaming the halls Monday and Tuesday, I’ll wear a sash with this lettering: Lebensborn, Secret Nazi Plan. If anyone asks what those words mean, I’ll hand my card over and ask them to meet me Wednesday afternoon at 4938.

The real adventure will be meeting agents/publishers/unknowns. Somehow, I’m being nudged to go to the Press Room. As a former news editor/reporter, I may be admitted. These reasons for “nudging” are never clear until they’ve happened.

Going to a Book Expo is one of these I’ve-Never-Done-Anything-Like-This-Before experiences. It feels as intimidating as setting up a new sewing machine.

I’ll be wearing the cargo pants I bought in Istanbul along with a black t-shirt and little blue denim vest. The pockets hold cell phone, billford, pen and Lebensborn business cards. I’m taking my white French beret.

My hotel is three blocks away: Holiday Inn Xpress. According to my Colville bridge group the $219 rate is cheap. Tuesday afternoon at 4 p.m. I’m invited to tea on the 24th floor of the Columbia Building which overlooks Central Park.
Raymond Beegle has also invited his friend, Irina, who he says, “Has lead a life which is a novel in itself.” That’s pretty exciting right there. Raymond has bought a copy of Lebensborn and says it’s at the top of his stack to read before I arrive.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

