BEA and Mingling with the Mob

Book Expo America 2011 was one of the most exciting, fulfilling, challenging and exhibilerating, and yet to be seen, rewarding events
I’ve ever attended.


By the third day at the Book Expo America in New York City, I knew how to forage through the exhibit halls where booksells from around the world, agents,
publishers and authors either had booths or were roaming, too.

Among the many gorgeous, and not so spiffy booths, was Stackpole editor Christopher Evans. The publishing company produces beautiful war books and may be a good possibility for my husband, Bud’s, l858 Indian war manuscript.

“We don’t publish fiction,” he said, “But in rare instances, we have.”
I handed him a copy of Lebensborn and said, “Maybe this might be one of your rare fiction works.”

I enjoyed meeting the author of Cold Mountain and others. To several I gave a copy of Lebensborn. To one man, I said, “Have many authors given you copies of their book.” “Several,” he said, “But none as lovely.”

During the event, I discovered that I may be among the few women who have written about WWII.

To get a feel for getting the most out of a huge event like BEA, I asked three booksellers what tips thay had for an attendee. The first said, “Don’t take all the free books and give-aways.” Or, said Mary Majors, an owner of Majors
Book Store in the Twin Cities, “You’ll do as I usualy do and leave it all in the hotel room.”

I had taken a fold-up duffle in my little carry-on so I sent a batch of books and book bags home at the Fed Ex shipping office on the lower level.

I didn’t give all my cards to attendees. I gave one to a lady from South Africa who was sitting in front of my hotel every day waiting for members of her farm team to arrive. They were visiting New York City as tourists after farm visits in the South. She told me of her village and of her interest in promoting the first garden festival there. Perhaps her book club will choose Lebensborn.

The new technology was too-layered and sophisticated for me to understand.
However, my publisher may be setting up kosiaks with downloads for books
to people with ipads in places where people congregate who have time to read:
camp grounds, hotels, etc.

It was also a place where a math genius told me that Lebensborn is in the top five percent of e-book sales. And, a book publisher told me that it would sell even more if the price could be lowered to $6.99. That’s my new mission among the mob: lower the price of the book in both e-book and reprint paperback without its thirty-three blank pages.

It was special for me to meet many Strategic personnel who work behind the scenes, especially the marketing cheerleaders and Mike Saxon.

There are so many book expos around the world. I may go the ones in either London or Miami.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

