Best of Times for a Writer


Steve Windwalker of KindleDailyNation sent a reprint from Joel Friedlander’s The Book Designer which asked:

Do you think there will be writers who are pushed aside by the technical requirements of the new era in publishing? Or will there always be publishers to take care of the business end of things for writers who want no part of it?

It would be “lovely” IF a writer today can find such a publisher to find readers. That’s NOT the way publishing is going.

Writers today are leaping over publishers and going right to readers. This is thrilling to me as a writer.

No one single person will make the decision as to whether or not they care to read what I’ve written.

That’s important. I’ve just uploaded two new manuscripts: Story Cookbook and Rusty Springs, the first in a contemporary Western trilogy.

Entering Computer Publishing wasn’t an easy way to spend the last two months.

Although I dearly enjoyed the company and friendship of my former Microsoft consultant, it was tiring work for both of us. Hours upon hours. When it was finally completed, it felt so good. We worked together to upload the covers and the interiors of the books.

You’d think that my former work as a medical book editor might have simplified and made the process less stressful. It didn’t. Nor has uploading the books on Kindle been an easy walk either.

However, there are humans who will phone me back within a minute, if I run into a problem or have a question. One helpful CreateSpace representative even went one step beyond my initial question and sent a link to things I didn’t know existed such as AuthorCentral at Amazon.

Yes, these can be the best of times for a writer. Help is finally available. It comes to writers who will struggle, are dedicated and do make the effort. The end result can be delightful.

When a stranger says, “Yes, I’ve heard about your story, but I can’t remember where,” it means it’s a new world for those willing to try the technical way of publishing. You put it out there and some one may decide it’s interesting enough to read.

If I can be an internet writer/publisher with so little mechanical or computer savvy, any writer can . . . and should.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

