Can you copyright a recipe?


This topic came up during a cooking internet conversation.

One person felt that recipes can be protected by copyright or patent laws.

As my new Story Cookbook contains an essay on each page, which, incidentally I’ve written, and one that I’ve collected and used at my Lazy Bee B&B, this topic needed research.

According to Yahoo: “You can’t copyright a recipe. You can copyright the form in which they are presented.”

According to Abusive.Ne.rve: “I don’t think you can copyright recipes. Recipes have been freely traded for ages.”

So, there you have it. A basic recipe is a procedure for producing food. Recipes are not protected by copyright law unless they contained in a poem or other such form.

Don’t you think that the best recipes are those which are used over and over, as the many basic and simple recipes I write about in
Story Cookbook? I write comments on a new recipe: like/worked/didn’t
work/try if . . .

How do you keep track of your recipes?

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

