Australian Seeks Lebensborn Children


An ad in an Australian newspaper asks anyone with information about a child born in Lebensborn homes who now live in Australia to contact her.

She is a photographer named Tess Bukowsky.
who tells me that what promoted her to look for these children in Australia stems from her morbid fascination with WWII. “My Oma was a teenager in WWII and she told me about this program as a child. I started reading what I could find about the program and discovered that there were many claims that some of the children had been sent to Australia by their home countries.”

If Tess does ferret out a few anywhere in the world, it would be remarkable. There are quite a few such children in Sweden and Norway who have formed several groups to give each other support and to help in their searchs for their “true” parents.

Tess says that she has contacted the immigration museum in her home town and several other organizations as wells as academics but has had no luck so far.

I wrote Tess that a Lebensborn child had shown up as an adult at one of my first book talks and that I had sent him links to the international tracing organizations.

According an American Red Cross staff member at their headquarters, there has been no Red Cross Chapter in the U.S. who has ever been asked by a Lebensborn child for their help.

It would be as fascinating for Tess, as it would be for me, to actually see one of the big black books in which children who were born in a Lebensborn home were documented.

Nazis were meticulous in their record keeping so the New Hitler Museum in Berlin might have material which might help her locate any persons who were born in a Lebensborn home who are now living in Australia.

Good luck, Tess.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

