Naps Aren’t a Waste of Time

Naps are not a criminal activity. Sleep education is highly recommended and so are naps.


Naps and Sunday afternoons are meant for each other.

If you have low energy, blurry vision, body aches, dizziness, are unable to concentrate, are irritable or have no motivation, you need a nap.

Maybe a little sleep education can help.
Some Americans think napping is a criminal waste of time. It’s something that only lazy people do when they should be working.

The truth is that when you take a nap after lunch, you get two days for the price of one.

For example, when I was going to Seattle from Spokane to fly standby to Florida and ended up instead a day and one half later in Pullman, WA., I needed a nap after my darlin’ Bud drove clear across the state to rescue me.

In Japan at the Toyota plant, employees are encouraged to take after lunch naps. Other companies such as Nike, Google, Union Pacific and NASA do, too.

You can go longer without food than sleep. A nap is different than nighttime sleeping. Between l and 3 p.m. in the afternoon, most of our biological cycles are programmed for a rest. Countries like Mexico, Brazil, Philippines, China, Vietnam, India, etc. all have a tradition of napping.

If you’re a poor sleeper, the good news is that a nap can actually be restorative.

A nap can kinda be like reprogramming your computer.

One of the people I met during my long vacation at Seatac airport, told me, “I have two jobs here and inbetween them, I find a long table, somewhere out of the way, and take a nap. At this brand new McDonalds, look around and you’ll see those two tables around that corner. They’d be good for a nap.”

If there is a next time to try to fly standby in high season (that’s when the kids are out of school and everyone is going to Florida or to Hawaii from there), instead of racing around on the train between Delta and Alaska, I’ll remember exactly where those tables are and rest a while.

The new McDonalds is open 24 hours.  I’ve been there.  I  know there are few people there at 2:10 a.m. who will be needing those out-of-the way tables.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

