Cafe Writing in Mexico


Sunlight streams in the floor-to-ceiling windows here at Starbucks.  The company faced many protestors when they first opened the café a few years ago in this historic l8th century building on the corner by the main square, the Jardin.  It has good vibes inside here in the café.  It is easy to write and to capture creative juices.  The ambience of the building’s ancient chandeliers and heavy wooden doors, among other artifacts, make beautiful eye candy when a writer breaks concentration and looks around.

Yesterday I shared a table with a handsome young man who was drawing concentric circles.  I see he is here again today, concentrating nearby so intensely he is oblivious to people or to his surroundings.

There are as many Mexicans, or sometimes more, than ex-pats.  They chat in quiet groups or individually work on computers or tablets.  I get up, leave belongings behind, all untouched and safe just where they are left.

Finally, I approach the young man who continues hard at work on his concentric circles.  He looks up, smiles, and I tell him that I have appreciated his unconscious concentration as I have been working.  He says that he has a project deadline in a few weeks for his quantum physics project and feels pressure to perfect these pictorial illustrations I am viewing,  just as I feel the need to continue writing the story of Casanova Cowboy.

The delight of finally having time to write, and in such a memorable place, is such a pleasure to express.  

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

