Joyful Surprises


Image

     Husband Bud announced today, “I like playing bridge now that I’ve finally got the “hang” of it.  He had been a reluctant beginner, but after the fun games we had with Barbara and Dale Thisted who came to enjoy a weekend in the country with us, he had this fantastic break through.  Hurrah.  He’ll enjoy bridge even better the more he plays.

     Jeannie, the master developer for Downstream Publishing, my new publisher, phoned this weekend.  The launch date for Snow Birds, my new non-fiction, will be October l.  June will see a new cover, the interior designed, fifty books printed for the major reviewers and bloggers.

      Had a fun little trip in the l956b Jeep on a beautiful 75 degree spring day to the top of a nearby mountain looking for an abandoned mine.   I wanted to see the site as a possible one for the last chapter of Casanova Cowboy.

     Up at top of this mountain, folks were not all that friendly.  More territorial signs were up than I’ve ever seen before: Posted, No Trespassing, Violators Beware.  When a car guarded the dirt road by parking across it side ways, we turned back.  There are many others to see. 

      A Jeep can go over a berm, but not a car.  Another trip up a mountain isn’t all that bad.  On one of them there is a mountain side with the prettiest blue stones, just right for the little path through our Shady Garden.  I asked Bud if he could find the place on the mountain where they are.  He said, “Whenever you’re ready. . .” and smiled.

      That’s a delightful promise coming during our 30th Wedding Anniversary weekend.  He’s my guy with a jeep who hunts and knows these mountains and where their treasures are hidden.

(Thanks for another beautiful pix go to Photopin.)

 

  

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

