Lost Your Sunglasses?


Image

       Your pair of sunglasses have disappeared.  Poof.  Vanished.  Where do they go?  I seem to lose mine when I travel.  Maybe at the airport.  There’s so much to manage there.  The roller bag, the satchel, and purse in one hand, the other carrying a boarding ticket and sunglasses.

     People never seem to FIND a pair of sunglasses.

     My pair of Polar Opic by Dioptics fits over my classic prescription glasses just fine, the tint never distorts my vision, however a pair just can up and leave.  Doing a little thinking about why this happens, it must be because I’ve taken them off because they weren’t needed and I had no good place to put them.

     Not long ago, the sun was bright.  I was out for the day away from the Lazy Bee, and yelped to my friend, I’ve lost my sunglasses.  “No, you haven’t,” she said.  “They are on the top of your sunhat.”

     Harry Dent, an investment editor, says he always loses his sunglasses.  Once when he lost his, he tried on a pair at a retail store made by Randolph Engineering (their usual style is the Aviator) and according to him when he bought his pair, “the world changed a little.  The sky was more crisp and looked better.  Things were crisper.”

     That can happen if you have cataracts.  It was after my operation that I could see the individual trees on a mountain whereas before I could see only the mountain.  I could drive faster and felt safer driving at night.

    That’s how I found my brand of sunglasses.  A pair of Polar Opics was given to me following the cataract operation, a procedure only daunting because in it was thought to be in my imagination.  It was over-quick and it was an easy recuperation.  Now I order two pair at a time because I lose so many.  Usually forgetting what type they are, I phone the nice lady at Diopics and she pulls up a past order and voila two pair of the polarized and scratch-resistant, bend to fit over are on the way.

     Losing sunglasses is not as dire as losing reading glasses.  Once I lost reading glasses and searched everywhere but naturally where they were lurking.  They finally turned up a few days later when I needed to make a fire in the kitchen woodstove and found them in the box of kindling next to the stove.  They had apparently fallen off when I was picking up a few pieces of wood to start a fire to make a pot roast, which incidentally turns out splendidly if done in a wood fire.

     Do you lose your sunglasses?   If you don’t, you must have a way to remember where you put them when they aren’t needed.  There are tips for everything in the sun.  Things for everyday little objects like duck tape and how to keep the ends from sticking together. (Attach a paper clip to the end)  Why not tips for remembering how to hold onto a prized pair of sunglasses.

     Last question: where to you think lost sunglasses go?  Are they like a sock that goes missing?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

