Are You Barefoot?


Image

     Being barefoot feels as liberating and can be as freeing as depicted in this lovely summer photo by Photo Pin.  Let’s ask you a question.

     Have you gone barefoot this summer?  It’s one of the many joys offered by summer.  Your feet have nerves. If you are without shoes they can experience the lushness of grass, the wonder of touching objects never noticed before.  Preferably you’re careful about where you going.  Hopefully not over rough rocks, or on walking on a hot tin roof.

     Once this Swedish/Polish girl went barefoot all summer long on a Florida beach and in the process got a golden suntan.  Maybe this was the same beach where Nathan Jaynes commented recently that he might have lost his sunglasses.  Following my essay about losing sunglasses, he wrote, “I like to think that my lost sunglasses live the remainder of their lives on an empty beach in front of a perfect sunset.  The only way I’ve found not to lose them is to buy a few pair.  That way there’s always a couple around when I need them.”

    My Mother’s tales of growing up at the turn of last century at the outskirts of Rush City, Minn. with six siblings and a young widowed mother who had little money, is significant in an essay about being barefoot. She and her brother, Fill, went berry picking to sell quarts to the local grocer.  They often walked along dirt roads filling pails so that he could buy shoes to wear to school.  Can’t you just see the two of them barefoot as they trotted along collecting wild berries in the fields?

   Rush Lake is a lovely rural area in Northern Minnesota.  That’s where I spent part of the summer at a lake cabin enjoying swimming, boating, fishing, and taking my brothers and cousins on adventures.  I must have been nine years old when I rounded everyone up for an adventure.  “Let’s go to Rush City to see Uncle Otto at the mill,”

   I wasn’t wise enough to inform one of the adults back at the lake.  We walked barefoot seven miles to the mill.  Someone must have missed us because I don’t remember walking back, but I don’t recall being scolded either.

   Barefoot in the summer brings good memories. 

    

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

