Stop to Savor


medium_3889243610There is a strong feeling of DOING now that Snowbirds, my memoir of our RV trip in a vintage 1973 Ford Scout has launched.

I fidget.  Anything but simply being with and enjoying the quiet transition before jumping back into writing the final chapters of Casanova Cowboy.

If there is a lesson to be learned, it may be to stop.  Appreciate where I am without unnecessarily complicating things by doing.

It’s the tolerance to simply be with what is happening without trying to change it.   When I do, there is a quality of inner strength and balance that allows a mindful presence of being, even when taking care of the everyday little things of living.

The concept of BEING is not easily grasped.  It is similar to a writer who is learning to show instead of tell.

Yesterday after we had presented our excerpts from Snowbirds, one comment was: “It’s just like you were performing at Woodlawn’s (local theater).  Instead of a one-person show, it was interaction between two persons.  I enjoyed it very much.”  (For me, she told me that I had written Snowbirds something that has substance.)

“Just to be is a blessing.

Just to live is holy.”      (Rabbi Abraham Hershel)

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

