Let’s Support This Practical Item


??????????????????????????????????????????Aprons have had a bad rap for too many years.  These practical, often endearing items, have virtually disappeared from women’s lives in the U.S.

Well, they’ll make a gala return at the fundraising pie auction at Fire District No. 10 up near the Canadian border.  Next summer, we’ll have a parade of women in aprons who are carrying a pie to show it off.

The most popular is lemon meringue but we’d have to figure out a way to keep them cool in August.  There’s even a microwave nine minute recipe for making this favorite.  The ones who have used this method report it’s just as good as the one that takes one hour to make.

Second top seller is huckleberry.   Gretchen Yoder has a list of all the favorites.  She and her husband go every year with a group of friends to ride in a small town where the grange hosts pie auctions.  Her husband spent two hundred dollars for three pies this year!  And, he’s a conservative spender!

Now, back to aprons.  “I don’t have an apron,” said a woman yesterday at a memorial lunch.  “I should have worn one today to fend off a few spots when I was baking.”

A man can wear an apron.  He can strut about with pride near his bbque.  A woman has to wear one in secret.

Why?  They are so adorable.  Each one is a creative marvel and so practical.

Tony’s Market in nearby Northport has the cutest one in its gift shop.  I long for it every time I drop by to pick up an item.  It even has little cap sleeves and is made of many pastel prints.

I want it.  But, something keeps me from buying an apron or wearing the few that I have.

Therefore, I rise up against the stigma of a woman wearing an apron.  She seems less than more.  Why did they go away?

1) No time to put one on.

2) Not many for sale.

3)  We wear a suit in a boardroom.  Why not an apron over this suit in the kitchen to protect it?

Who put the whammy on aprons?

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

1 thought on “Let’s Support This Practical Item”

  1. I wear one all the time-especially when company comes.  It keeps your clothing from being ruins by grease,etc,…..SBR

Leave a Reply

