Tips for Radio Talk Show Guests


On air for an author is a beautiful way to connect with potential readers.
On air for an author is a beautiful way to connect with potential readers.

Meeting folks via a radio show is a lot of fun.  It’s easy if you’re relaxed, delighted to be sharing your expertise with unknown listeners  and talk show host.

Here are a few tips:  Know your  subject; Give short responses; If asked for more details, give short snip its. Preview the station and your host.  On-air interviews have a conversational flow.  Radio hosts are smart, quick to jump into the juice of your content.

First, you’ll be contacted by someone at the station, usually the host via e-mail or phone.  Kathy Raeker, host for “Let’s Talk,” in Cinncinatti, Ohio, phoned to ask if I’d be  home the night before her broadcast so she could confirm me as her guest.

Unfortunately, I forgot and was at an AAUW Coffee House.  I cringed when I got home and the blinking message machine had Kathy’s voice  giving me the station number, her cell, an home numbers.  As it was now one or two in the morning my time, I decided to phone her at 4 a.m. and reach her home at 7 a.m.

It worked. She was relieved to hear from me.  On air, it was as if we’d known each other for years and were just having a good time together talking about freedoms of a recreational vehicle trip.   She wants the latest tips for her listeners.

Host of I-Heart Radio Show in Houston is a different breed  He and his female sidekick are comedians.  I laughed all the way through our ten minutes on air.  When it was over, I wanted to do it all over again.  It was more fun than an author deserves.   I’m still pondering this question he asked: What one item shouldn’t you bring?

Nancy and Lisa Smith have the Big Blend radio show as well as an on-line magazine.   They had visited some of the sites I mention  in Snowbirds.   They are as fond of Ft. Bowie as  I am of this little -known national site.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

