Cafe Has a Special Twist


Twin Rocks Cafe Bluff Utah

A Utah park ranger mentioned this café in his line up of the Anasazi ruins we should see.  “President Clinton gave the people of this area a dam and in exchange received miles and miles of mesas with ruins.  He gave archeologists ten years to study the ruins which would be covered by water.  The artifacts they uncovered are here at this museum.  In Bluff, you might like the Twin Rocks Café.  I go there all the time.”

Skipper, the driver of the little Pleasure Way van in which we were traveling, said, “Why do you want to go thirty miles each way out of our way to go to a café?”

“With so few restaurants in this remote area, it might be as big a tourist attraction as any ruins.  The Anasazi sited their villages in twin fashion, from entrances to their religious kivas to the places they chose.  I’ll bet this café is similar site worth seeing.”

I chose pancakes with fruit topping and sausage.  Skipper delighted in a breakfast burrito called a “Supper Burrito.”   The food was creatively served and hot off the griddle.  It was delicious.

An exquisite gift shop attached to the café had the most expensive jewelry I’d seen in one place.  My favorites were a six thousand dollar very light blue, almost white, bracelet of turquoise blue.  Other designers displayed thin bracelets of silver with little gold raised figures of horses.  Oh, my, if I had dollars to spare, this would have been the place.

I left happy with a turquoise top with a silver horse design and a memory of meal never to be forgotten.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

