Things Go Missing


Twin Rocks Cafe Bluff Utah

Objects disappear when traveling.  On our recent trip to the Southwest in the Pleasure Way van pictured above, the biggest loss was a hundred dollar bill. You can’t lose one of those without a little concern.

I had the bill in my hand and was making my way to the front of the van when traffic was stopped in Farmington by students who were taking a collection from passersby.  It was as if I were a magician instead of someone who had been asked to take it into a store to make a purchase to change a large bill.

The Skipper of the rig pointed to one of the eight small cupboards and said, “Where did you put the computer cords?  I always keep them right here.”

“You’re right,  They aren’t there,” I fretted, running my hand among the items in the ledge over the door.  It was where I put them for you last night.”

How do things go missing on a trip?  The cords vanished just like a box of oatmeal that Skipper had taken from the large box behind the van and put, he thought, in the entrance.

None of those things ever showed up.  Any more than the campfires and warm weather I had envisioned for the ruins of Chaco Canyon, the Arches, Mesa Verde.  Upon arrival, it was either too late at night, too windy or cold.  The Four Corners region can feel unfriendly when it comes to weather.

At one campground, we met a retired pediatrician who was a good organizer.  “My wife and I worked things out our first days on the road.  She has her places and I have mine.”  The couple had rented their home in the East and were touring to find a place to relocate.  “Does this mean that you are full timers?”  He frowned at the thought.

For a review of the Twin Rocks Café pictured above, check out my next blog.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

