Attention Men: The Color of Your Sox Is Important


She knows what a woman prefers.
She knows what a woman prefers.

My independent poll of a few men did confirm the reality of the color of a guy’s sox choice.  I asked, “Would you wear sox with crazy patterns and colors?”  A firm, ‘No,” was the immediate response.

A guy recently asked Amy Alton, the Advice Goddess in Santa Monica, “I’m a 31-year-old straight guy.  I dress boringly- except for my sox.  My buddy says my crazy pattered sox make me look weird and less manly.  In other words, do women prefer guys who wear black, brown or gray sox (or, white for sporting events)?

I agree with Amy’s answer, that yes, guys, your sox are costly signals.  To wear certain sox, she says, can be risky for any man.

I remember that when I was dating a guy in Iowa who was a flashy dresser, when he came with a hole in the back of one of his sox, his appeal dropped significantly, or I never wanted to see him again even if he wasn’t wearing Superman insignia with little red capes.

As for insignia on a guy’s underwear, that doesn’t count.  It’s not up for public view.  It’s his right to wear, especially if it is a gifted garment bearing a significant message such as ‘Temptation.’

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

