Presenting the Perfect Pie


No doubt, making this pie is one of the most memorable things I've ever done.
No doubt, making this pie is one of the most memorable things I’ve ever done.

I’ve been baking pies a long time.  I even won a medal once at Waterloo Iowa’s Dairy Cattle Congress for an apple pie, but this recipe for rhubarb pie is so incredible in all ways, that I must share its secrets.

The pie is so tasty, the balance of tart and sweet to perfection, the crust golden in color and depth, that I still sense the flavor two days later.  As soon as it came out of the oven, it had the persona of perfection.  Two days later I can still sense the taste and will be making it again this morning before it gets too hot outside.

You see I sacrificed the last remaining piece. I gave it to my pie-discerning neighbor Bob Yoder who pays big bucks for a pie at pie auctions.  Before I knew it, he’d returned with a pile of rhubarb from his garden and left it on my back deck.

Life is all about presentation: the way you dress, your hair style, the way you even arrange dishes in your dishwasher or on the sink, prepare flower arrangements, organize your home.  This pie is lives a life of perfection.

4 cups fresh rhubarb  (cut in 1/2 pieces and do USE fresh)

4 cups boiling water

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon quick-cooking tapioca

l egg

2 teaspoons cold water

Pastry for double-crust 9 inch pie (I use half butter and half lard)

1 tablespoon butter

Place rhubarb in a colander and pour the hot water over it in a big bowl and set aside.

In a bowl, combine sugar, flour and tapioca.

Drain rhubarb.  Add to the sugar mixture and toss well.  Let stand for 15 minutes.

Beat egg and water.  Add to rhubarb mixture and pour into bottom pastry. Dot with butter.

Cover with remaining top pastry and flute the edges.  Cut slits in top crust.

Bake 15 minutes at 400 degrees.  Reduce heat to 350 for the remaining 40 to 50 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and filling is bubbling.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

