Baked Oatmeal Recipes


She thinks you'll love this blog.
She thinks you’ll love this blog.

Oatmeal is thought of as a simple breakfast dish. These two recipes have the potential to prepare it for a high-class buffet or special guests.

My son, Tony, likes to move through life fast as possible so he just uses the packets from a box and pours over the hot water. He’ll be visiting the Lazy Bee in two weeks so this will be served along with the rhubarb pies and crisps he loves.

This “Old-Family” recipe is from the recipe boxes of Barb, Becky and Liz who bake it for family visits.

OATMEAL CREME BRULEE

2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats, uncooked
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
3 1/2 cups milk
2 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar (to add later)

Mix all ingredients together in an 8 inch square pan and bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes. Remove and spread the brown sugar over the top. Return to over and melt 2-3 minutes under the broiler until bubbling.

This second recipe reminds me of an elderly guest I had at Hillside House, my B&B in Spokane. A memorable person because of the fact she had a harrowing escape from the Nazis. She said, “I’ve been making oatmeal a lifetime and this is the best I’ve had.”
I wonder how she’d like this oatmeal made in a crockpot.

CROCKPOT OATMEAL

1/3 cup oil
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg, beaten
2 cups dry quick oats
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup milk

Pour the oil into a slow cooker and grease the bottom and sides.
Add the ingredients and mix well.
Bake on low for two and one half hours.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

