Add This To Your Bucket List


I enjoy the taste of lingonberries.  They are especially yummy in the perfect crepe crust.
I enjoy the taste of lingonberries. They are especially yummy in the perfect crepe crust.

Breakfast is my favorite meal. It can be served on a ship, in a campground, at a five-star restaurant in Paris or at the Old European Restaurant in Spokane, WA.

When I remember all the foreign countries in which I’ve had the good karma to have had breakfast, the good memories of travel return just thinking about the food that was served.

Breakfast in England, Russia or Turkey have their reasons to visit but food isn’t one of them.

Ah, Paris. The fragrance of sipping coffee with cream and a delicate pastry as you sit at a sidewalk café watching the dogs and their owners go by is mighty fine.

In Bergen, Norway, the multi-course breakfast on the top of a hotel that catered to Americans, ranks right up there. I started with two bowls of oatmeal, went back for a couple of the breakfast egg casseroles, added breads and pastry, and continued to plow through the many other courses.

“How can you eat like this?” Asked my mother when we were there following our experience in Russia. “I must be starving. This food is so good.”

“So many people have come and gone,” continued my mother who wasn’t at all fond of leaving because she didn’t like walking up and down all the steps in Bergen.

I wish she were still here so that I could take her to Old European Breakfast House in Spokane. She may have liked the Dutch Babies, a Benedict (a toasted muffin topped with two medium cooked eggs and hollandaise sauce), or the orange rolls, which incidentally the Davenport Hotel also does so well.

From time to time, I’ll write a review for TripAdvisor. We were just in Spokane to pick up Bud’s new historical fiction, Courage Beyond Expectation, and had time to drop in for breakfast at Old European.

When having breakfast at Old European, it felt as if we were traveling again. Once again, I was having lingonberries as I once did in Stockholm. Perhaps Bud was remembering being in Germany and having potato pancakes.

Ah, food. When it’s prepared with fresh ingredients and is of the best quality, there’s nothing like the enjoyment it offers.

Here’s to breakfast!

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

