Why I Blog


Why do I blog?
“I want to see something and then tell you about it.”

Word Press is running several ten-day seminars for bloggers.  I am studying blogging.

The first question asked in my category was ‘Why do you blog?’  After much thought about the subject, I say:

a) My number one delight is to see the different countries where people view it.  The last blog, Native American Tells of Tribal Holocaust drew the attention from Germany, Singapore, U.S. and Australia.  Last year the report from WordPress was that almost 90 different countries had done so. Amazing.

b) People save my blog.  Jane Conn told me she put the one I wrote about her unique and imaginative Christmas décor in her collection of e-mail favorites.  Nice.

c) For a news reporter like me, blogging comes naturally.  You need research, the trust of people you interview and the skill of being super-quick getting words down. Fun, too.

d) It’s in my genes to be curious.  As someone once said to me:  “You can talk to anyone about anything.”  One of my first memories is riding in a car with tiny windows.  I’m under two years old because my brother, Jack, hasn’t been born yet and I am squirming in my mother’s lap trying to stand up.  “What are you doing?” she asks.  “I want to see something.”  Already I am a quester.

e) My vast range of topics is probably the best when I write about a person.  When I was in public relations, or even doing free-lance articles for magazines, the most notable ones were about people.  Stories that gave answers: Why are ginseng hunters so secretive?  How could a couple who did two artists economically manage to make a living with little paid employment? (Barry and Mareleen Farmer, artists in Phoenix, once retrieved a tattered copy of my Des Moines Register Sunday magazine’s article about them) And, Kurt, the cousin of Sherryl Roshdy of Spokane who lives on the East coast, What are your next plans for hunting the Big Foot in the Pacific NW?

f) The blog continually keeps up with the Lebensborn program around the world.  Not too long ago, an Australian photographer contacted me and said she was seeking people in her country who had been in the Nazi program.  I wonder often if she continues her search.

Meanwhile what I call my signature novel, Lebensborn, is soon to be republished with a new cover by artist Gloria de los Santos of Colville, and the new title: Lebensborn Secrets.  So, now you know why my blog is entitled: Lebensborn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

