Eyes of Wonder


Wings

Once upon a time there was a little boy.  He was clutching the dollar in his little hand in a  dollar store trying to decide which toy to buy.

He spots a pair of lacy wings and asks his mother, “I want these and I want to wear these now.” He was so anxious.

His mother suggests that once they get home it would be a good time for her to attach the wings.

In the car going home, he holds onto them so carefully.  Inside the house his mother fastens them onto his back.  She begins to put away the groceries as he runs into the living room.

She hears his little feet patter to the sofa.  Then a big thud, silence and then sobs as the lad cries with heartbroken sobs, “They didn’t work.”

It dawns on his mother that he really thought he could fly.  There was no doubt in her mind that she’d seen him picturing himself in the dragon wings soaring through the air.

“All I know,” said the mother, “When I collected him in my arms and told him that the wings were pretend and they wouldn’t work, he’d lost a little of childlike wonder for the world.

“There are moments that steal your joy in life, the things that jade the way you perceive the world, making you realize that all things aren’t possible, that you are limited.  I told him that he would be happy again, but I knew that now there was a little chink in his armor, a spot weakened.

“If in that moment I could have made him wings that would fly, I would have made a pair of the best wings hopes and dreams could build.  Yes, he’s only four but I would have done it even it he flew into a power pole, got hurt and I’d end up hearing a doctor say, “Why would you give wings to a four year old?”

This is a true story and one that I hope my son Tony will read to my Grandson David.  I wonder what David will say after he hears what happened to the boy who wanted wings to fly.

What wings are you thinking about wearing today?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

