An Alternate Massage


26862864280_0f2a782126
Your invitation for massage in a different way. My personal first impression.

A few days ago I didn’t know about a different type of massage.  A woman called.  “I’m new in the area.  My name is Paula.  I’m a masseuse and am calling because you have a Bed and Breakfast and might know people who might be interested.”

She didn’t leave her phone number.  Thinking about having a massage, I asked around and after a few phone calls I found that she lives on the next road over.  We made arrangements for her to bring her table and come over.

As she was opening her table in the living room in front of a blazing fire in the Blaze King stove, I learned quickly the name of the massage in which she specialized. “You won’t need to undress.  I do this when you are fully clad.  You’re wearing sweats and that’s perfect for what I do.”

“You don’t do massage?” I asked with some hesitation as I was already up on top the table. “Oh, I started out doing Swedish but everyone likes this better.”

She began slowly with gentle, subtle touch.  “I do this to reposition your body to have it self-direct from the inside for the bodies self-healing reflexes.  Most people will feel a positive difference after the first session.  Within four sessions, the majority feel up to 80 to l00 % better.

“Most situations where there’s pain or discomfort, I’m able to give some ease almost immediately.”  She demonstrated her technic.  “Notice my bent hand.  Pretend it’s your rib cage.  Suppose my fingers are the ribs and one is out of alignment,” she said as she gentled pushed one finger forward.

“Unlike practitioners who focus on muscles, using strokes to stretch or by deep pressure soften tensions, or, like chiropractors who do manipulations to bring bones and muscles into correct anatomical alignment bringing changes from the outside, I use gentle movements from the inside to help your body understand and remember its inner wisdom.  Patterns that have become progressively ingrained are disentangled.”

Following two of her one-hour sessions, I sense that my once-upon-a-time easy walking stride is returning.  My right arm, weakened severely when I tripped over barbed wire and fell on a patch of ice, is becoming stronger.  Instead of stretching tense muscles, Paula’s subtle movement may give my body the message that will be enough to unleash and reactive joints and muscles and I’ll be able to play tennis again.

Practitioners need 500 hours of study and practice to be licensed.  Orto-Biometry has been around since the l970’s when it was founded by Arthur-Lincoldn Pauls, D.O.

With a little practice, I may even be able to  property say the name of this type of massage: Orto-Biomentry.  I’m glad I’ve told you about my experience.  You, too, might like to try it.

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

