Gone Missing – Ask the Internet


426943815_506cda55c9_b
Sherrel did it. This may work for you, too.

The was a hot day when Sherrel Bradford Rhosdy was out weeding her little garden in Spokane, WA.

Suddenly she looked up when poking around in the fairy roses and cried, “My wedding rings.  They’re gone?  What shall I do?  I can’t find them anywhere?”

Same thing happened to me, only it  was my self-defense tool that’s gone.  It’s something everyone needs to have with them when in the deep, dark woods near the Canadian border.

The information, about little tool I try to remember to have with me at all times, came via an advertisement in my mail.  It said it was the secret to protection from violent assaults without carrying a gun or to taking a martial arts class, a little difficult class to find here because no one teaches such courses, although, like border patrol officers, they may know how, or, should they be former military, they don’t have time to teach a self-defense class because there are so few of us here who might be interested.

My little tool was an important thing to carry.  It was small, but strong enough to break glass in case I’m kidnapped or if I get locked out of house or car.  It goes through airport security, too.

The thing is — it’s a tactical pen — and because it is a pen, these things have a habit of going missing,  Plus, I wouldn’t be as lucky as Sherrel.  I wouldn’t be smart as she is either.  She said, “I went to the Internet.  I found Luke the Ring Finder.  He came over with his metal detector and found my rings.  I was so happy.”

Sherrel’s story had a happy ending.  I wouldn’t be as lucky. If tactical pens go right past airport security, they’d escape the detection of a metal detector.  Besides pens are like sunglasses, who knows where these items go when they go missing.  As one reader told me when I wrote this blog about losing your sunglasses, “I always envision the ones I lose. I picture them on a beach watching the sunset.”

.

 

 

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

