What It’s Like in WA State


Third Graders

Andrew Lumino, a third grader in Mrs. B’s class at Langley School in McLean, Virginia, says he has chosen the “Great” state of Washington to work on his report about my state.

He says he wants information directly from anyone who lives in Washington State.  On sticky notes, I sent him a brochure about bears, a map of Stevens County up near the Canadian border and the Columbia River, the 2nd Edition of Favorites from the Lazy Bee.  The best thing of all for someone his age is the column written about the Lazy Bee, my ranch, by a Spokane reporter.

Doug Clark in his article includes quotes by Jason Oleinick, my grandson who was 12 years old at the time.  It’s quite funny so I think Andrew will get a big kick out of Jason’s comments.

In my letter on Lazy Bee stationary, with the sub-head – a rip-snortin’ Bed and Breakfast in the Spirit of the Old West – I told him I live in the forest and mountains so I can snow ski right off our back deck.  Soon as the snow melts, I say that I’ll be able to see the shooting range off in the distance and make plans to practice.

I tell him that we live 38 miles north of Colville, population around 6,000, another 15 miles from Northport, a little town of 300 people who once saw steamboats passing on their way up the Columbia River to Canada, and just five miles from the Waneta border crossing to Trail, B.C.

I continue: My husband is a volunteer fireman for District #10.  On Sunday the 12th, the Friends (of which I am one) will be hosting an appreciation dinner for them and their friends at the Fire Station.

Last summer, they were called out five times in one week to fight fires near by, and we’re hoping that this summer the wildfires will be less scary.  We don’t have poisonous snakes but we do have wolves, bear, coyote and cougar.  Therefore, we do need to protect ourselves when they are in the area.

(Photo courtesy PhotoPin)

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

