Romantic Interlude


woman thinking

We want romance in our lives.  Classy J. Peterman’s story-told descriptions of hard to find garments gives us this in his lithe 5 X 7 ” catalogs.

Take a peek at this copy for a blouse: “This old thing.  It possesses effortless “just threw it on” look, like it’s some old cotton this or that.

“Closer inspection reveals delicate silk chiffon sequin-front blouse.  Sheer sleeves.  The astute ones notice the scalloped hem.”

Or this: “There was a palpable calm that I almost didn’t trust.  A subtle waft of sage.  Whoever ran this place made Zen the priority.

“There was also really good stuff.  Porcelain signs from the l930’s.  a Mohican chief’s blanket.  an excellent mid-century Grundig console radio.

“Then, there she was.  gliding.  Soft and wise.  She hadn’t said a word and I felt like I could tell her anything.  That was her energy.

“I jokingly ask where the yoga studio is.

“In the back through the bank vault,” she says without looking up.  Perhaps silk reminds you somewhere you might have been a prima ballerina, or a trapeze artist, or parachuted out of a plane.

“Some fabrics work their way into your uttermost feelings and desires.

“and, when you combine that within aesthetic of mid-century design, every step is a dance.  Every moment a blur of color for a silk-art skirt.”

I savor words no matter where I find them.  No matter that they are written in a sales catalog when it becomes a journey of adventure.  As a kid, I loved the thrill of Jack Armstrong told on the radio, or written on a cereal box.  Oh my, it was also a place to see where to send away for a silver ring.  Actually I do have an I love a Mystery secret decoder ring in my jewelry box.

For those who want these word adventures and to see unique, one of a kind woman and men’s garments, you can call customer service at J. Peterman’s: 888-647-2555 where you’ll read “Tuesday, the summer heat in Sevelle is the hottest . .  . ”

(Again, thanks to PhotoPin for an enchanting photo)

 

 

Author: lebensbornnovel

There at the base of a mountain, I live in a rustic cabin with my engineer/writer husband and loving cat, Alfie. I am a former journalist and pr consultant. In my blog I attempt to capture a sliver of WW history, the Lebensborn program to create a Master Race, and to add newsworthy tidbits which are 'somewhat' relevant to this subject.

Leave a Reply

